as if 110,000 voices suddenly cried out in terror and were suddenly silenced

So I’m still very shocked and confused by yesterday’s outcome, but I can’t help wonder if we’ve seen the end of the bowl system. My personal bias is that somehow Michigan will salvage the season and end up ranked, but then what does that mean for Appalachian State? If Michigan ends up in the top 25, then shouldn’t App. State be there too? If Michigan actually wins the Big Ten as was expected before yesterday, then shouldn’t App. State be going to a bowl too?

As much as I hate to say it, I see no way that Michigan’s coaching staff returns after the end of the season. If they do well then they clearly under-prepared for the game, and if they do poorly with all the talent they then they under-prepared for the season.

At any rate, I’m not looking forward to watching this game on ESPN Classic for the rest of my life. Colorado-Michigan 1994 was more than enough for me…

5 Responses to as if 110,000 voices suddenly cried out in terror and were suddenly silenced

  1. brianbunton says:

    The answer is obvious. Turn each game into a best-of-three series. You can play three games on a Saturday, right? And just think: much of the time you wouldn’t even need the third game. Somebody tell the ADs about this idea. They can triple their revenue!

  2. jwambaugh says:

    Thanks again for calling me… otherwise I would have missed everything. At least Michigan won the part I heard 6-3.

  3. jkguy16 says:

    Appalachian State plays in the Football Championship Subdivision (formerlly 1-AA). They don’t have bowl games, they actually have a playoff to determine it’s national champion.

  4. jwambaugh says:

    Exactly — the I-A bowls and the I-AA playoffs have been separately naming champions since the seventies partly on the assumption that there was no overlap between the two divisions. If it should happen that Michigan ends the season playing in a bowl (as they have done for more than thirty years), then there will be a clear overlap between the I-AA playoffs and the much more profitable bowl system. I-AA teams will have a reasonable argument for playing in bowls, and “bowl callibre” teams will lack any reasonable argument for excluding them. I think a playoff system may now be (eventually) inevitable.

  5. […] quarterback, running back and offensive lineman, to make a run at a national title. That attempt imploded before it even began. Still he compiled an outstanding record, went a respectable 11-14 against top ten teams, won 75% […]

Leave a Reply

