Bunton’s Summer CD: Disc 1 Track 10

Every so often I make up a mix CD of my favorite songs at the moment; mostly new songs, but with some old songs sprinkled in for flavor. I thought it’d be a neat feature of this new blog to go through, song-by-song, and explain a little about why it appeals to me… hoping that each leap will be the leap home.

Amy Winehouse I first heard Amy Winehouse when I downloaded her song “You Know I’m No Good” as the iTunes Song of the Week. It’s a soulful, bluesy tune, with the kind of lyrical play that only a Brit can write. She’s always been described as having an old-fashioned sound. It wasn’t long before I heard an album review of Back to Black on NPR’s Fresh Air. It was then that I discovered the main component of her persona: she’s a dyed-in-the-wool hedonist. In fact, her first (and perhaps most popular) single “Rehab” is about refusing her family’s pleas to get help. That she’s finally done. She checked into rehab for a few days, but despite the short stay, she seems to have cleaned up some. After her tour, she says she plans to own a beauty shop.

Next time: the latest effort from my second-favorite band from California

Leave a Reply

