Bunton’s Summer CD: Disc 1 Track 11

Every so often I make up a mix CD of my favorite songs at the moment; mostly new songs, but with some old songs sprinkled in for flavor. I thought it’d be a neat feature of this new blog to go through, song-by-song, and explain a little about why it appeals to me.

IncubusI haven’t always liked Incubus. The stuff of theirs I’d heard most of the time in college sounded atonal and hard just for the sake of being hard. However, sometime around the time I graduated college in 2000, I first heard the song “Drive”. Incubus’s sound, slowed down and comprehensible, was much more appealing. As each new single was released, I started to appreciate the band more and more. Eventually I came to appreciate the “atonal” qualities of their music, but I had to approach it from a more familiar place. I also became impressed with their songwriting abilities. Some readers may be interested to know that they have a song based on classic science fiction and a song fairly viciously attacking the Bush administration.

So, very slowly, Incubus has become one of my favorite bands. I’ve bought each of their last three albums, and have been very satisfied with each. (“Wish You Were Here” is one of my all-time favorite songs.) The track that appears on this mix is “Dig”, which at the time was their latest single, and is probably my second favorite Incubus tune.

By the way, for the curious, my favorite band (from California or anywhere else) is Nickel Creek. Somewhat perplexingly, they don’t show up on either disc.

Next time: a selection from the “Last Kiss” soundtrack.

One Response to Bunton’s Summer CD: Disc 1 Track 11

  1. ZULIAN says:

    ES UNA DE LAS MEJORES BANDAS MEFASINA SU MUSICA

Leave a Reply

