Bunton’s Summer CD: Disc 1 Tracks 14 & 15

Every so often I make up a mix CD of my favorite songs at the moment; mostly new songs, but with some old songs sprinkled in for flavor. I thought it’d be a neat feature of this new blog to go through, song-by-song, and explain a little about why it appeals to me.

MewOne of the other main sources I use for finding new music is the TV channel Fuse, which was once MuchMusic USA. (Not anymore though, because it’s not carried by my new cable company.) In particular, there is a show that comes on in the wee hours on the weekends called The Dive. Very simply, it’s five or six videos, fairly new, by up-and-coming artists most people haven’t heard of. Many songs on this list are here because I first saw the videos on this show, including one of today’s.

The video in question is Mew’s “Special”. Mew is a rock band from Denmark that describes themselves as “the world’s only indie stadium band”. Their style is a sort of dreamy prog rock, fairly typical of indie music. Their lyrics are unintelligible, which is okay, because from what I’ve found they make no sense anyway. (iTunes says that fans of OK Computer-era Radiohead would enjoy their music.)

The video for “Special” stayed on The Dive for a long time, much longer than most other videos. Several months after seeing it for the first time, Mew’s song “Apocalypso” showed up as the iTunes Single of the Week. The album on which both songs appear, And the Glass Handed Kites (see? sounds like a March Madness pick set by bpt2), is a continuous album, one song flowing to the next. As it happens, “Special” appears immediately after “Apocalypso”, so I’ve included them here in the correct order.

Next time, I think: from “next big thing” to backlash in, oh, about fifteen minutes

4 Responses to Bunton’s Summer CD: Disc 1 Tracks 14 & 15

  1. brianbunton says:

    Lunchtime! has been having some problems with our images. Your understanding is appreciated until we are able to resolve this issue.

  2. bpt2 says:

    “On the Photos and the Coming and the Going”

    I noticed that, too. At one point it was only images I had posted that weren’t loading, so maybe I’m the culprit somehow.

  3. brianbunton says:

    Looks like it’s okay for now.

  4. […] the video for “Young Folks” on TV. I’ve mentioned the awesome cable channel Fuse before, which I miss dearly, and its show The Dive. In this section of the compilation, many of the […]

Leave a Reply

