Look who’s back, back again…

So I have returned from my whirlwind tour of America’s beaches.  The day after visiting seven beaches in the Caribbean on my honeymoon, I left for California to  attend a systems biology conference in Long Beach.  A day after returning from that trip I was allowed to exercise my newfound “spouse” status to tag along to Myrtle Beach for a conference there.  Got to see Prof. Bunton there and generally had a great time including ice cream at Kirk’s (KHAAAAAAN!)

 At any rate, I am not the only one who is back.  A few years after foregoing any sort of record deal at all in a Prince-like move, Radiohead has decided to release their new album on-line, allowing downloaders to pay as much or as little as they want.  Radiohead, though they cause the aforementioned Prof. Bunton to cringe, are by far my favorite band of this generation and I can’t wait to get home and get my copy.  I’m thinking that $9.99 is a good price for the ten songs, but am wondering what everyone else thinks…

3 Responses to Look who’s back, back again…

  1. bpt2 says:

    Welcome back!

    The tech blogger at Salon concluded, after some questionable assumptions, that paying $1.40 leaves Radiohead no better and no worse than if they’d released the album through a label. Quick, everyone, count the flaws in logic!

    http://machinist.salon.com/blog/2007/10/01/radiohead/index.html

  2. brianbunton says:

    I think I saw somewhere that the most you could “pay” (I prefer the word “donate”) was $205.61. I was confused why, until I remembered that they’re a British band: 99£. I suppose it’s good that they’ve capped it.
    I’ve always been a proponent of this kind of model. Ever since the days of Napster (the non-lame version), I’d much rather illegally download an album and just send a check to the band for $10. That’s less than I’d spend getting it legally, and more than they’d get through a label. Not to say the label should get nothing, but they should get a lot less than they do.
    And it was a pleasure to hang out with you. You and the little lady will have to come back sometime.

  3. jwambaugh says:

    Apparently there is some debate over whether Freakonomics, the book behind the blog of the same name, gave rise to Radiohead’s idea for a music honor system. I certainly wouldn’t put it past them to have read the book, but who knows…

Leave a Reply

