Ave Maria, Our Lady of the Turnstiles

It sounds like a lunchtime question with no answer: “If one of the world’s best musicians busked in a large subway system at rush hour, how much money would they make?”

This article ran in the Washington Post Magazine almost seven months ago. I remember feeling oddly touched by it. I forwarded it to my family, mentioned it at work. It stuck with me.

Now I read that it became the most viewed article ever on washingtonpost.com. I’m not one to keep a good viral phenomenon down, so I thought I’d pass it along here. The writer, by the way, is Gene Weingarten, who is well known for his humor writing.

2 Responses to Ave Maria, Our Lady of the Turnstiles

  1. brianbunton says:

    I love this story. I think I first heard about it on NPR. Watching the video, I can’t believe no one stopped. I’ve never heard a busker play that well before.

  2. brianbunton says:

    This feature just won the 2008 Pulitzer Prize. Congratulations, Brian!

Leave a Reply

