Bunton’s Summer CD: Disc 2 Track 1

Every so often I make up a mix CD of my favorite songs at the moment; mostly new songs, but with some old songs sprinkled in for flavor. I thought it’d be a neat feature of this new blog to go through, song-by-song, and explain a little about why it appeals to me.

Ray LaMontagne For the second volume of my 2007 Summer CD, I didn’t put quite as much thought into the overall flow. I did, however, want to start it off quietly, so Ray LaMontagne was a natural choice. His smooth, soulful voice reminds me of early Cat Stevens. “Be Here Now”, the first song from his second album Till the Sun Turns Black, leads off this disc.

The urban legend states that LaMontagne, who hails from Maine, was at his job at a shoe factory when he heard a song by Stephen Stills (of CSNY fame) and walked out to start a musical career. I first saw him on a fantastic episode of Austin City Limits, one of my favorite places to find music.

Next time: the first single from one of the most overlooked albums of the year

Leave a Reply

