Who Knew?

I’m realizing as I write this that I have no idea how to use WordPress. FAQ? No thank you! I guess I’ll figure it out as I go. I hope this works…

ANYWAY…

As is my unfortunate habit (though I can stop whenever I want…seriously), Tuesday I was checking the celebrity “news” while I was working really hard on physics. I came across this jewel of a story which I immediately forwarded to my current lunch crew. For those of you who might not like to click and read, basically Paris Hilton’s latest cause is drunken elephants. Here’s a quote: “The elephants get drunk all the time. It is becoming really dangerous. We need to stop making alcohol available to them.” Pot? Meet kettle. I suppose it is a serious, though strange, cause for her to get involved in. I enjoyed imagining how she ever got involved. I think it went something like this:

Paris’s advisers bring her a list of causes she could support: starving children, AIDS research, drunk elephants, rainforest
preservation…

“Wait wait, what did you say? Go back one! Drunk elephants? Let’s do that one!”

It’s a rather sharp contrast to the other animal hero of the month, Hayden Panettiere, who protested a Japanese dolphin hunt on her surfboard. (ETA: There’s a warrant out for her arrest in Japan now! Way to stir the pot Hayden!)

Now if only Jude Law would save a kitten or something…

Oh yeah, thanks for the invite John! Hello lunchers!

6 Responses to Who Knew?

  1. jwambaugh says:

    Hello Mary! I think that drunk elephants is about the best cause I have ever heard of. Maybe we should make it the official lunchtime charity.

  2. brianbunton says:

    Yeah… not so much.
    (Hi, Mary!)

  3. mfkidd says:

    The world makes sense again. The associated press should be more careful!

  4. bpt2 says:

    Wait, so you mean Paris is actually _not_ sensitive to the plight of binge drinking elephants in northeastern India? She needs to step outside of her little celebrity bubble!

    Hi Mary!

  5. mfkidd says:

    I guess all we REALLY know is that she (a) was not praised by conservationists and (b) made no such statement. She could possibly maybe still be sensitive to their plight…maybe.

  6. jwambaugh says:

    If even Paris Hilton has abandoned the drunk elephants, than we definitely need to step up to the plate.

Leave a Reply

