Bunton’s Summer CD: Disc 2 Track 6

Every so often I make up a mix CD of my favorite songs at the moment; mostly new songs, but with some old songs sprinkled in for flavor. I thought it’d be a neat feature of this new blog to go through, song-by-song, and explain a little about why it appeals to me.

AugustanaAugustana, a band from California, scored a mild hit in 2006 with their single “Boston”. After the video marked them as a VH1 “You Oughta Know” artist, the song made the usual rounds on TV shows. I impulse-bought the album at the height of their popularity. It was okay, certainly not album-of-the-year-worthy, but serviceable.

Anyway, “Boston” is not the song that appears on this CD. It’s one of those songs that gets old when overplayed, and I knew I’d be playing this album often. So I went with another, unreleased track called “Bullets”. There’s no particular reason for the choice, other than I really liked the phrase “Jack and Coke / Please take off your coat” for some reason.

Next time: A song written just for me!

Leave a Reply

