Bunton’s Summer CD: Disc 2 Track 9

Every so often I make up a mix CD of my favorite songs at the moment; mostly new songs, but with some old songs sprinkled in for flavor. I thought it’d be a neat feature of this new blog to go through, song-by-song, and explain a little about why it appeals to me.

Bloc PartyMy favorite new discovery of 2007 was, by far, Bloc Party. I first saw their video for “Banquet” on Fuse* in early January. I was initially unimpressed, until the video a couple of weeks later for “I Still Remember” from their upcoming second album. I was immediately struck. Not long after A Weekend in the City was released, I bought it and their first full-length album Silent Alarm. Now that ’07 is over, I can confidently say that Weekend was my favorite album of last year.

As I plan to opine about extensively later, Bloc Party accesses within me a very specific feeling: the secret desire I’ve had all my life to attend a British boarding school. Something about the British culture and immersion education, I guess. But I could very easily imagine Bloc Party supplying the soundtrack to that alternate life; in fact, it’s more than that. When I hear the band’s music, it brings those thoughts to mind. And that’s nearly the best type of music.

Bloc Party is best described as British post-punk revival. That’s probably too narrow, though. It’s good rock music, although the British influence is undeniable. The subject matter, especially from Weekend, deals mostly with struggles with modern-day apathy. A favorite line, from “Kruezberg”, is “I / I have decided / At twenty-five / Something must change”. I’m sure it comes as no shock to regular readers of this feature that I’m a sucker for the melodramatic. The track featured at this point in the compilation is “The Prayer”, a bass-rocking anthem. The video did not impress me greatly, however.

Since Weekend, Bloc Party has released a single (video) that may or may not appear on their unannounced third album. Expect great things from this band.

Next time: a musical legend you’ve probably never heard of.

*Again I express my dismay that my new cable company does not carry Fuse, even in an add-on tier. This is particularly painful at this time of the year, because I think I’ve missed their year-end countdown, a main source of musical inspiration for me.

One Response to Bunton’s Summer CD: Disc 2 Track 9

  1. […] I mentioned on the Summer CD, Bloc Party’s A Weekend in the City was my favorite album of 2007. Here I […]

Leave a Reply

