Bunton’s Summer CD: Disc 2 Track 10

Every so often I make up a mix CD of my favorite songs at the moment; mostly new songs, but with some old songs sprinkled in for flavor. I thought it’d be a neat feature of this new blog to go through, song-by-song, and explain a little about why it appeals to me.

Alejandro EscovedoAfter watching his episode of Austin City Limits on UNC-HD in June of last year, I felt ashamed that I’d never heard of Alejandro Escovedo. A native son of Austin, Escovedo has apparently been quite influential in one of my favorite genres, roots rock. (It’s a bonus that Sheila E. is his niece; the E. stands for Escovedo.)

When I saw him on ACL, he was performing songs from The Boxing Mirror, his “comeback” album. In 2003, he nearly succumbed to Hepatitis C. While Escovedo was on what he considered to be his deathbed, friends organized charity concerts and even released a tribute album to help pay medical bills. According to an uncited statement in his Wikipedia write-up, he’s now considered to be completely cured.

In the broadcast, I was struck by one song in particular called “Break This Time”. I rewatched it several times in a row. However, when I downloaded the album version, I was supremely disappointed. However, another song I really liked called “Dear Head on the Wall”, was just as good as I remembered, so I include it at this point in my summer compilation. As far as I can tell, he doesn’t make videos, but there is this live performance on YouTube.

Next time: a spooky song from a spooky girl.

Leave a Reply

