Thinking of Brad…

Wired has a brief write-up on an oscillatory reaction that has also made Slashdot.  Of course, it’s the Briggs-Rauscher reaction and not Brad’s beloved Belousov-Zhabotinsky, but it’s still a nice video.  I wonder if the two reactions are natural enemies, as with robots and dinosaurs (remember, one is from the future, the other from the past).

4 Responses to Thinking of Brad…

  1. bpt2 says:

    Dude, that guy stole my 10th grade science fair experiment!

  2. bmarts says:

    I keep thinking I will make a BZ video one day. The video above has more dramatic color changes than BZ videos I’ve seen, but I wonder if I could make something really nice here in the lab.

  3. bpt2 says:

    More dramatic because of the fast and slow time scales? Or because of the colors?

    I read about a cousin of the BZ that, instead of alternating colors, periodically bubbled. Add farting sound effects and you’d have a YouTube sensation…

  4. bmarts says:

    The color difference and the time scales both contribute. I have seen demonstrations of the BZ where it sits in a dark blue state then goes to a deep red for a couple seconds and back to blue. You’re left scratching your head wondering if anything happened. But I’ve also seen BZ with a decent contrast in color and somewhat longer time scales, just nothing as clear as the video on this post, which is really awesome.

Leave a Reply

