The 50 Best TV Episodes of 2007

The Futon CriticThe folks over at TheFutonCritic.com compile a list every year of the 50 best individual television episodes of the year. I always find it very close to my own ranking, although I don’t watch many of the shows they rank. Today, they completed their recap of 2007. (NOTE: Under each entry is a sentence that contains major spoilers! If you just want a list, I’ll put it after the jump.)

I still say that the last ten minutes of the latest season of Battlestar Galactica is one of my favorite moments in television all-time, but since they gave the show its #1 spot last year, I suppose I can’t be too upset with them putting it at #2, especially considering who it lost out to. One big surprise: I figured #15 would be much higher than it ended up.


Here’s the list:

  1. Lost: Through the Looking Glass
  2. Battlestar Galactica: Crossroads, Part 2
  3. Friday Night Lights: I Think We Should Have Sex
  4. Dexter: There’s Something About Harry
  5. The Shield: Chasing Ghosts
  6. The Office: The Deposition
  7. Big Love: Dating Game
  8. Heroes: Company Man
  9. Doctor Who: Blink
  10. Veronica Mars: The Bitch Is Back
  11. Pushing Daisies: Pilot
  12. Traveler: Pilot
  13. 30 Rock: Rosemary’s Baby
  14. Mad Men: Five G
  15. The Sopranos: Made in America
  16. House: Half-Wit
  17. Family Guy: Blue Harvest
  18. Damages: Pilot
  19. Brothers & Sisters: Game Night
  20. Kyle XY: The Prophet
  21. The Unit: Five Brothers
  22. The Office: The Negotiation
  23. Extras: Christmas Special
  24. CSI: Living Doll, Part 1
  25. It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia: The Gang Finds a Dumpster Baby
  26. Chuck: Pilot
  27. How I Met Your Mother: Something Blue
  28. Andy Barker, PI: Fairway, My Lovely
  29. The Knights of Prosperity: Pilot
  30. Friday Night Lights: Let’s Get It On
  31. Gossip Girl: Hi, Society
  32. My Name Is Earl: Our COPS Is On
  33. The Riches: Pilot
  34. Life: Fill It Up
  35. South Park: Imaginationland
  36. Dirty Sexy Money: The Watch
  37. Brothers & Sisters: 36 Hours
  38. Jericho: Why We Fight
  39. Burn Notice: Pilot
  40. Californication: Pilot
  41. 30 Rock: Cougars
  42. Curb Your Enthusiasm: Meet the Blacks
  43. Scrubs: My Musical
  44. It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia: Dennis and Dee’s Mom Is Dead
  45. Supernatural: Hollywood Babylon
  46. Reaper: Pilot
  47. How I Met Your Mother: Showdown
  48. Entourage: Gotcha!
  49. Code Monkeys: Todd Loses His Mind
  50. Flight of the Conchords: Bowie
2 Responses to The 50 Best TV Episodes of 2007

  1. jwambaugh says:

    I very much agree with the Dr. Who episode “Blink” being on the list. I don’t watch Dr. Who normally, but I’ve saved a copy of that episode. It could easily be a movie.

  2. guidedangel says:

    One Tree Hill 3.16 should be on this list.. the high school shooting episode really made an impact in young adolescents.

    Lost – got to agree with that..

    And of course; how I met your mother! wow.. awesome show..

    God I’m hooked on way too many TV shows right now..

    desperate housewives, prison break, and heroes 😀 wow!

Leave a Reply

