My Eighth Annual Super Bowl Party of One

It's my party and I'll cry if I want to.For the first time since 2000, I will not be hosting a Super Bowl Party. (The first year was just me and Brent, and we left at halftime to go to Burger King.) For a couple of years, it was the social event of the season for the graduate students in Duke Physics and their friends. In later years, though, as my involvement in the department shifted from “very” to “kinda”, the crowd reduced to several close friends. Alas, now that I live in a different city, and most of my friends are married with children and/or live prohibitively far, the streak comes to an end. Frankly, it’s a relief. I’m not much in the mood to host a party right now.

My favorite Super Bowl party memory is from 2002. Our friend Karl attended, and it was apparently the first time he’d ever had any interaction with Brad. After observing Brad and I trading barbs all night, he later commented, “I thought that guy was being a dick!”

Anyone else care to share?

3 Responses to My Eighth Annual Super Bowl Party of One

  1. […] the Super Bowl Brunswick Stew 3:50 p.m. Well, Brian’s annual Super Bowl party may be a bit hard to reach this year on account of him graduating and becoming a professor in […]

  2. Mary says:

    Hmmm…walking to the gas station with Kristine in search of hot dogs??

  3. bpt2 says:

    I remember the food. And trying to get a seat on the couch instead of the floor.

Leave a Reply

