Bunton’s Winter CD: Track 2

Every so often I make up a mix CD of my favorite songs at the moment; mostly new songs, but with some old songs sprinkled in for flavor. I thought it’d be a neat feature of this new blog to go through, song-by-song, and explain a little about why it appeals to me.

Bob SegerIt seems to me that it would be impossible for anybody who’s older than about 20 to not know the work of Bob Seger. He broke onto the scene with the hit “Night Moves”, but is probably most well-known for “Like a Rock”. The latter is probably the most successful single-to-jingle transition ever, as it’s still used in advertising for Chevy trucks, though most of the ads feature now feature the infuriating John Mellencamp tune “Our Country”. His song “Turn the Page” was covered and made popular by Metallica*. My favorite of his songs, however, are “Old Time Rock ‘n’ Roll”, and the song that appears here, “Against the Wind”.

To me, “Against the Wind” is a quintessential early 80’s pop song. The melody is heavily jazz-influenced, but it’s still firmly grounded in rock. It was also written back in a very good time for lyrics. Songs these days aren’t as clever and poetic as they used to be. Also, I must admit, this deserves to be lumped into the category of “yacht rock”, which is one of the most awesome short film series I’ve ever seen.

Next time: a second appearance by my favorite British band.

*Mary, your copy of the Winter CD is slightly different from the “real” version; it has “Turn the Page” instead of “Against the Wind”. I decided that I thought the saxophone solos were just too cheesy. You’ll also notice a few other minor differences, including the omission of the third track on your copy.

3 Responses to Bunton’s Winter CD: Track 2

  1. mfkidd says:

    Was this a test to see if I really read your track analyses?

  2. brianbunton says:

    Yes! I’m so insecure.

  3. mfkidd says:

    Good thing there’s less saxophone…it’s one of my least favorite instruments!

Leave a Reply

