A Riddle

I hate to push down Brian’s good news with a mere riddle, but then again there’s no such thing as a “mere riddle” around here and so I share with you the riddle I received around 7:30 last night:

A woman, while at the funeral of her own mother, met a man who she did not know. She thought he was ‘amazing’. She believed him to be her dream partner so much, that she fell in love with him right there, but never asked for his number and could not find him. A few days later she killed her sister.

Question: What was her motive for killing her sister?

It feels like I’ve heard this one before but I don’t know if I’ve ever learned a satisfying answer. My first thought was to run down the possible family relations between the mother, daughter, stranger, and sister, but this didn’t lead much of anywhere. (Except: The woman sleeps with the stranger and becomes pregnant, finds out he was her father and somehow realizes she is pregnant in the next few days so she has an abortion? Eew.)

My second thought was to run down “justifiable” reasons for killing her sister. Somehow the motive should be derived from the little bit of information we have (it won’t be a traffic accident). Likely the motivation will be socially understandable since socially unacceptable answers (e.g., the woman is a serial killer or my abortion story) are unlikely to get circulated. In other words, I think the existence of the riddle limits the possible solutions.

Any other ideas?

3 Responses to A Riddle

  1. mfkidd says:

    I’ve heard this one before and I’m going to type the answer so scroll on if you don’t want to read it.

    .
    .
    .
    Ok.
    She kills her sister because she figures that if the guy came to her mother’s funeral, he might come to another family member’s funeral. Supposedly, if you come up with this answer, you are a psychopath…or sociopath…or something else I’m too lazy to look up. I think you’re safe, John.

  2. jwambaugh says:

    Oh, good grief. So much for my “socially acceptable” theory.

  3. mfkidd says:

    haha, yeah I should have added that…

    My friend who does IQ tests and patient evaluation at a psychiatric office told me that riddle and solution (because I’m not a whatever-o-path I couldn’t come up with an answer) but I don’t know if it’s really and truly a test of someone’s humanity. 🙂

Leave a Reply

