20 foods that are good for you and 10 that are just horrible

Brian’s new picture at the top of the blog (from a sequence entitled “Eating Turkey Legs at the 2007 NC State Fair with Brian and John”) got me thinking about a cool story I found on Digg last month.  In the vein of Deep Fried Atrocities, Divine Caroline has Ten Foods You’ll Find, Eat, and Regret at the State Fair.  It’s a pretty good list, including deep-fried spaghetti and meatballs (pictured) and a new offering from the man who brought us deep-fried Coke — deep-fried chocolate chip cookie dough.  No doubt that he’s a cardiologist.

At the same time, the Digg gods have also brought us 20 Common Cooking Ingredients that Act Like Medicines.  Many of my favorites were on the list, but it looks like I’ll have to find a way to include more ginger, rosemary, cloves, and kale in my diet.  Either that or write a funk sequel to a certain Simon and Garfunkle album.  My favorite on the list was good old horseradish which, given my love of rare steak, I rely on heavily for its antibiotic properties.  I have been known to talk a certain (then) girlfriend into trying horseradish on crackers for severe congestion.

Leave a Reply

