Pandora, as good or bad as you

Shame on anyone who knows of the website www.pandora.com and didn’t tell me! In short, it generates a radio station tailored to your musical selection. You enter a song or artist and it plays songs with similar musical qualities to what you’ve entered. It works based on the Music Genome Project, which attempts to produce a genome like description of music so that different selections can be compared for likeness. The wiki entry explains well enough how it works.

Anyone who has had the displeasure of riding in my car might already know that I have bad taste in music — I’m fairly certain this holds for Bunton and J-Dub. What’s remarkable is that I put in one or two artists and the site finds an endless stream of exactly the crap I like to listen to. As the songs come you can give them the thumbs up or thumbs down to further customize your station. I now have a fine tuned mix of mellow rock instrumentation, folk influences, subtle use of vocal harmony, mixed acoustic and electric instrumentation, major key tonality, melodic songwriting, acoustic guitar riffs, a good dose of acoustic guitar pickin’, a dynamic male vocalist, and acoustic rhythm guitars among other things. Not that I can tell you what any of that is, but apparently I like it.

4 Responses to Pandora, as good or bad as you

  1. brianbunton says:

    I’d heard of Pandora, but had never played around with it. Yahoo! had a similar product that I used, but it sounds like it was less refined than this.

    (Don’t stop believin’, Brad. You built this city on rock ‘n’ roll.)

  2. eisenworks says:

    What sets Pandora apart from other ‘music discovery’ websites, e.g., last-fm, or Jango, is the sort of left-brain approach it uses to find music you might like. It does a kind of DNA analysis of songs or artists you like and finds other music that shares a similar genetic makeup.

    I just finished creating a screencast on Pandora, which you can see here:

    http://mainstream-guides.com/pandora

    I’m doing another on a competing service, Jango, which emphasizes the social aspect of media discovery. That is, find people who share your musical tastes and find out what they are listening to that you aren’t. A fundamental difference is that you’re much less likely, in this scheme, to find music few others know about.

  3. Josh says:

    I knew about Pandora. Sorry for not disclosing…

  4. brianbunton says:

    I just updated my iPhone to 2.0, and one of the new developer applications is Pandora. For free, you can listen to your Pandora station for free, wirelessly. This may be the greatest thing since sliced bread.

Leave a Reply

